The Democrat-led House passed a bill on Wednesday, April 21, that would make it more difficult for any president to enforce a travel ban.

The bill would mandate the State Department, the Department of Homeland Security, and the president only to issue travel bans “when required to address a compelling government interest.” Even then, they would have to “narrowly tailor the suspension to use the least restrictive means to achieve such an interest.”

The “No Ban Act” would curb the president’s power to issue travel bans without first consulting Congress and would expose the procedure to lawsuits by foreign citizens in the United States who are “harmed by such a restriction,” according to a review of the bill.

All 217 House Democrats and one Republican, Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA), supported the plan.

“Today, the House is taking action to ensure that no president or administration can ever again abuse its authority by waging discrimination on the basis of religion. The #NoBanAct restores the separation of powers by limiting executive action to issue future religious bans.”

— Nancy Pelosi (@SpeakerPelosi) April 21, 2021

Democrats approved the plan after a report earlier this month showed that two illegal aliens from Yemen had been arrested at the U.S.-Mexico border. Both were confirmed to be on the FBI’s Terrorism Watch List and No-Fly List after background checks.

In a quote, Dan Stein of the Federation for American Immigration Reform (FAIR) said:

“Just a week or so after we learned that terrorists are exploiting the Biden border crisis, the House now wants to make it easier for them to waltz in the front door by stripping presidents, current and future, of the authority to bar entry to foreign nationals based on legitimate security concerns.”

President Joe Biden has removed former President Donald Trump’s travel ban, which barred immigrants from countries deemed exporters of state-sponsored terrorism. He reversed Trump’s decision to suspend a series of visa systems to prioritize jobless Americans applying for work in the United States.

As a result of the CCP Virus (coronavirus) outbreak, the United States continues to apply travel restrictions on China, Iran, Europe, Brazil, and South Africa. Biden upheld Trump’s travel ban on China after previously calling it “xenophobic” and “hysteria.”

In a 5-4 ruling in June 2018, the United States Supreme Court reaffirmed that presidents have the right to restrict the admission of any other group of foreign nationals from the United States in the national interest.