Twenty hopefuls for the 2020 Democratic nomination have been busy preparing for next week’s second round of televised debates in Detroit. The evening debates, on July 30 and 31, will be hosted and televised by CNN, beginning at 7:30 p.m.

The format in Detroit is the same as for the first round of debates, held in Miami, on June 26 and 27. The 20 candidates will be divided into groups of 10, with each group to debate for one evening.

Thus far, only California Rep. Eric Swalwell has withdrawn from the race for the nomination, leaving a crowded field of more than 20 Democratic candidates still vying for a few moments to distinguish themselves.

The Democratic debate also takes place amid uncertainty over the direction of the Democratic Party. Much attention has been given to the Mueller investigation and report, which culminated in a lackluster daylong hearing on Capitol Hill, on Wednesday, July 24. Squabbles between President Trump and a group of junior congresswomen, self-identified as “The Squad,” over some of President Trump’s remarks on Twitter, have also consumed headlines.

However, important topics, including the handling of the immigration crisis at the U.S. southern border, the state of national health care, and the recent bipartisan budget agreement, are likely to take center stage.

Below are the line-ups for Tuesday and Wednesday’s debates.

Tuesday evening:

 – Steve Bullock, Governor of Montana
 – Pete Buttigieg, Mayor of South Bend, Indiana
 – John Delaney, Congressman from Maryland
 – John Hickenlooper, Governor of Colorado
 – Amy Klobuchar, Senator from Minnesota
 – Beto O’Rourke, Congressman from Texas
 – Tim Ryan, Congressman from Ohio
 – Bernie Sanders, Senator from Vermont
 – Elizabeth Warren, Senator from Massachussetts
 – Marianne Williamson, author

Wednesday evening:

 – Michael Bennet, Senator from Colorado
 – Joe Biden, former Vice President
 – Cory Booker, Senator from New Jersey
 – Julian Castro, former Secretary of Housing and Urban Development
 – Bill De Blasio, Mayor of New York City
 – Tulsi Gabbard, Congresswoman from Hawaii
 – Kirsten Gillibrand, Senator from New York
 – Kamala Harris, Senator from California
 – Jay Inslee, Governor of Washington
 – Andrew Yang, technology entrepreneur

Sign up to receive our latest news!

By submitting this form, I agree to the terms.